POST MERGER INTEGRATION

Realizing growth potential and increase in value

Takeovers and company mergers are essential parts of industrial expansion strategies. Still numerous studies have shown that more than half of such acquisitions fail, resulting in loss of value and failed growth. The primary goal of a Post Merger Integration Project is to avoid such failure by realizing the potential synergy of the growth potential in the merger.

Key to success is beginning as early as possible with planning the integration while calculating the cost and synergy factors. This can deliver also valuable input for the negotiation of the acquisition. Furthermore, it is important to identify early the growth potential so that it can be employed to add value after the integration.

Essential for the speed and final success of the fusion is realizing the identified synergies in the first 100 days. In focus are integration of customer and product portfolios, teams, structures, processes, and systems. Typically, the integration of the IT systems and their underlying business processes is usually one of the most costly subprojects.

Grafik PMI Post-merger integration planning

msg Industry Advisors has extensive experience and a proven methodology for guiding fusions and acquisitions. We concentrate our efforts on 5 central aspects of the integration process:

Synergies and Integration Costs

Critical for the added value of a transaction is the utilization of synergies. It is insufficient to only estimate their potential – they must be realistically modelled and calculated as much as possible before the financial negotiations, and with consideration of the integration costs. Those reliable potential synergies enter into the Business Case, are important factors in the business negotiations and are the starting point for planning an integration with measurable financial effects.

Uninterrupted Operations from Day 1
Masterplan for Integration and the First 100 Days Plan
Project Management Office
Change Management und Communication

Your Contact

Christoph Piller

Christoph Piller

POST MERGER INTEGRATION

Wachstumspotenziale und Wertsteigerung realisieren

Übernahmen und Zusammenschlüsse von Firmen sind wesentlicher Teil der Wachstumsstrategie von Unternehmen. Und dennoch zeigen zahlreiche Studien, dass mehr als jede zweite Akquisition scheitert: Das Ergebnis ist Wertverlust und nicht Wachstum. Das zu vermeiden und durch die Realisierung von Synergien eine Wertsteigerung des fusionierten Unternehmens zu erreichen, ist die zentrale Aufgabe von Post-Merger-Integrationsprojekten.

Ausschlaggebend für den Erfolg ist es, möglichst früh mit der Integrationsplanung sowie der Kosten- und Synergienberechnung zu beginnen, was schon im Transaktionsprozess wertvollen Input für die Kaufverhandlungen liefern kann. Darüber hinaus gilt es Wachstumspotentiale zu identifizieren, die nach der Integration als Wertsteigerungshebel eingesetzt werden können.

Ausschlaggebend für die Geschwindigkeit und letztlich den Gesamterfolg der Fusion ist die Realisierung der identifizierten Synergien in den ersten 100 Tagen. Im Fokus stehen dabei die Integration der Kunden- und Produktportfolios, Teams, Strukturen, Prozessen und Systemen. Dabei erweist sich gerade die Integration der IT-Systeme und der darin abgebildeten Geschäftsprozesse häufig als eines der aufwendigsten Teilprojekte.

Grafik PMIPost-Merger-Integrationsplanung

msg industry advisors verfügt über langjährige Erfahrung und große methodische Kompetenz bei der Begleitung von Zusammenschlüssen und Akquisitionen. Dabei konzentrieren wir uns bei der Post Merger Integration insbesondere auf fünf zentrale Aspekte des Integrationsprozesses:

Synergien und Integrationskosten

Entscheidend für die Wertsteigerung durch eine Transaktion ist die Hebung von Synergien. Es reicht aber nicht, die Synergiepotentiale zu schätzen – sie müssen noch vor den Kaufverhandlungen möglichst konkret modelliert und berechnet werden, unter Berücksichtigung der Integrationskosten. Diese belastbaren Synergiepotentiale finden Eingang in den Business Case, sind wichtiger Input für die Kaufverhandlungen und der Ausgangspunkt für die Integrationsplanung, nach der die finanziellen Effekte meßbar erarbeitet werden.

Unterbrechungsfreier Geschäftsübergang und Tag-1-Planung
Integrations-Masterplan und Erste-100-Tage-Planung
Project Management Office
Change Management und Kommunikation

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Christoph Piller

Christoph Piller